Simulation Centers and Faculty/Staff Development

Picture of Malvin Whang
Top 10 Simulation Facility Questions?
by Malvin Whang - Wednesday, October 5, 2011, 12:58 PM

I'm an architect specializing in simulation facilities. I'd like to put together a Top 10 list of questions or FAQ on simulation facilities from questions I get asked or see people asking.

These are questions about either the design or construction of a simulation facility, including high fidelity simulation spaces, skills labs, classrooms, debrief etc.

Here’s the top 10 I thought of.

1. How much does a simulation center cost?

2. How large a space do I need for a simulation center?

3. How much storage should I plan?

4. What kind of AV technology should I use?

5. Which simulation software package should I use?

6. Where is the best place to locate a simulation center on a campus?

7. How do I get started in planning a simulation center?

8. How do I future-proof my simulation facility?

9. Can we provide patient care in our simulation center?

10. What kind of infrastructure do we need for a simulation center?

Please add new questions and I will try to respond as best I can. Some of these are not within my area of expertise and some are dependent on your specific needs and circumstance.

Picture of Malvin Whang
Re: Top 10 Simulation Facility Questions?
by Malvin Whang - Monday, October 24, 2011, 3:57 PM

10. What kind of infrastructure do we need for a simulation center?

You will need the typical building systems including electrical, heating and cooling, data and telephone. If you plan to broadcast your simulations or other activities, verify that the facility has bandwidth capacity. This may also be a policy issue depending on the type of institution you are.