Simulation Centers and Faculty/Staff Development

Picture of Janette Ryan
Re: Looking for a mentor
by Janette Ryan - Wednesday, February 6, 2013, 2:01 PM

Hi Melissa,

I'm relatively new in my position also, as the Nursing Skills Lab Manager at a private College with Nursing Programs that include PN, ADN and RN to BSN [online] programs, among others.  I can relate to your wondering how to do what needs to be done.  We have two nursing skills labs with mid-fidelity, Laerdal, Nurse Anne & Nurse Kelly manikins, including a Mega-Code Kelly - which has more capability [including running a code & using telemetry].  We do not have what is called any high-fidelity manikins at this time.  I've had a crash course in learning a lot of what is involved in this role since hire, and I suspect I'm not as technologically savvy as you are; but I've been learning!  I sure know more about these manikins and this role in this setting, than I did 6 months ago!  

Currently we do not do full scenarios at the PN level, since their course of study is very fast paced in just 4 terms and so many come into the program with only a high school background and maybe some STNA experience [if].  So they are flat out just learning the basics and basic PN skills.  The PN students and our ADN students do practice on the manikins during the skills lab component of their lab component courses, everything from Fundamentals of Nursing, Med-Surg I and II, OB/PEDS, IV, etc.  In addition to their lectures and didactic components, they have a clinical component and a lab component to many of their courses.  So the PN students learn and practice quite a few skills in the nursing skills lab using manikins - doing everything from peri-care to vital signs, basic physical assessment skills, Medication administration, IV starts, catheterization, wound care, trach care, maternal and newborn assessments, etc. all in 4 terms.