Developing Simulated Learning Experiences

Picture of Julie Scharton
Evaluation Tools
by Julie Scharton - Sunday, October 18, 2009, 5:42 PM

I am a graduate student at Bethel University in St. Paul, MN.  For my Master's project I am implementing an End-of-Life care simulation scenario with senior nursing students in the BSN program.  I am in need of a validated evaluation tool to have the student fill out upon completion of the excerise.  Does anyone know of an existing tool that I may use as a refrence?  The implementation will take place in Feb. and I'd like to have a tool designed by late January--at the latest.  Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Julie Scharton, RN

Picture of Suzie Kardong-Edgren
Re: Evaluation Tools
by Suzie Kardong-Edgren - Sunday, October 18, 2009, 9:31 PM

Many congratulations on being smart enough to not invent your own tool in a short period of time! There are many tools in print already including the tried and true NLN tools, which you might investigate. Two colleagues and I have a review of currently published  evaluation tools coming out in the January issue of Clinical Simulation in Nursing. Probably too late for you. Will students do the  scenario alone or in a group? This will impact the kind of tool you want to use also. There are some out there for groups and some for individuals.
Picture of Vicky Allen
by Vicky Allen - Sunday, November 15, 2009, 9:26 PM

I am also using critical thinking development through simulation use as my master's research project.  Is there a web site or a phone number or a specific article that has the actual tools in it? I would like to do a quantitative study and most of the research I have found has been on student perceptions rather than measuring performance. Thanks for the help. Vicky Allen
Picture of Cheryl Landis
by Cheryl Landis - Monday, November 16, 2009, 10:29 AM